James Daniel Fluker's Blog


Dull Blades Update: On Time and In Time

Posted in Dull Blades Cut Deepest,writing by jamesdanielfluker on September 2, 2011
Tags: , ,

Editing is going smoothly, or at least I’m keeping up the clever facade that it is. Today’s work rounded out the decision and implementation of the time period for the upcoming murder-mystery novel written by yours truly.

After much deliberation, I have put the main weekend of the story as December 17-19, 1982.

For those of you who read (part of) the Beta version, you can thus guess when some of the other events occur.

WHY THEN?

This time period satisfies a number of conditions given by the content/context of the plot. I did fiddle with the years a bit to avoid seeming to reference a certain event in real-world history when referring to a similar event in the plot’s history. Past that, I wanted to avoid contemporary times, which I’ve already done in The Elf (2010) and will likely do again in the future.

SO HOW CLOSE IS THE NOVEL TO BE DONE:

Well, it’s nearly there after this revision to version 3, but I want to give it at least one more round of editing to add a few more details, but for now I’m saying October 6th, 2011.

OTHER NEWS?

I will be posting a minor updated version of The Elf where it is currently available. It will have a few minor fixes as well as a few pages of previews for upcoming books. This will prolly be this month.

I will be formally announcing the title, as well as other information about my sixth novel in the next month. Once I wrap up these projects, I can focus on preparing it to start writing in November for NANOWRIMO.

Leave a Reply

